Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 95
Addison Family Papers
Letters, 1890-1899, from Walter E. Addison, lawyer of Big Stone Gap, Wise County, Va. to his father E.B. Addison of Richmond, Va. concerning his financial problems. Also, includes bank statement, 1892; and letter, 1899, of John S. [Fleming ?] to E.B. Addison.
Ambler Papers
Letter, 20 May 1806, of Anthony Davis, New Kent County, Virginia to John Ambler, Williamsburg, Virginia, concerning horse-breeding; letter, 18 June 1814, of Thomas Chiles to Edward Ambler requesting permission to kill lambs so sick slaves can have fresh meat; promissory note, 27 Jan[uar]y 1815, from J[ohn] Ambler to W[illiam] Marshall; and check, 8 July 1849, signed by Philip St. Geo[rge] Ambler.
Robert Andrews Papers
Acc. 1980.119: This accession includes biographical material, silhouette, correspondence, deed of sale for one slave, and copies of the Virginia Almanac, edited by Andrews (1781-1796).
Acc. 1985.014: This accession contains photocopies (no originals) of genealogical material about Robert Andrews, his ancestors, and his descendants.
Art Song of Williamsburg Records
Daniel Philippe Aunspaugh Papers
An extensive collection of business correspondence, financial papers, daybooks, legal papers, and account books, chiefly 1800-1850, of Col. Daniel Philippe Aunspaugh, documenting his work as tanner and justice of the peace at Bedford County, Va. The collection also includes accounts, 1832-1857, of James Oney.
Baker Family Papers
Correspondence, bonds, and accounts of Jacob Baker of Monongalia County, West Virginia and Nelson Baker and Jonathan W. Baker of Alleghany County, Maryland. Includes letters written from Washington, Iowa, Piedmont, West Virginia, and from Missouri as well as letters written by a student at St. John's College, Annapolis, Maryland.
Henry Eastman Bennett Papers
This collection contains copies of speeches and papers written by William and Mary faculty member Henry Eastman Bennett; royalty statements and contracts for books written by Bennett; correspondence; designs for chairs and desks and plans for starting a desk-making company.
Beverley Papers
James D. Blackwell Papers
Blakemore Papers
Papers, mostly accounts, of Nathan L. and Henry Blakemore, of Sangerville, Augusta County, Va., but including correspondence from commission merchants in Richmond, Lynchburg, Winchester, Staunton, Alexandria, and Fredericksburg, Va. and Baltimore, Md. Many letters are from Emmanuel Grove of Luray, Va. and concern the Shenandoah Iron Works run by Nathan L. Blakemore. Includes receipts from railroad and water transportation companies.
Blow Family Papers
Borland Family Papers
Carter Braxton Collection
Charles Brown Papers
Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I)
Bucktrout-Braithwaite Papers
Maud Miller Buxton Family Papers
Cabaniss Family Papers
Campbell Family Papers
Campbell Family Papers II
Carpenter Papers
Papers, 1765-1922, of the Carpenter family of Rockingham County, Virginia. Includes papers of John Carpenter, William Carpenter and Thomas W. Carpenter. Includes letters, 1837, from Tennessee; and letters, 1851-1853, from Missouri; Confederate currency; accounts, 1810-1817, of C. T. Jones with Doctor John B. Botts; the will of Godfrey Hoge of Philadelphia; and a manuscript recipe booklet, ca. 1800.
Carter Family Papers
James F. Clarke Papers
Papers, 1856-1907, of James F. Clarke, physician, of Mt. Solon, Va. Includes letters and accounts.
Thomas Croxton Papers
The collection contains letters, receipts, invoices, and account books of Thomas Croxton concerning his law practice at Tappahannock, Va. Includes accounts with J.M. Parr & Son, commission merchants of Baltimore, Md. who received grain from Croxton by ship and sold it on consignment.